Lucky Jim

Lucky Jim Regarded by many as the finest, and funniest, comic novel of the twentieth century, Lucky Jim remains as trenchant, withering, and eloquently misanthropic as when it first scandalized readers in 1954 This is the story of Jim Dixon, a hapless lecturer in medieval history at a provincial university

The Idiot

The Idiot A portrait of the artist as a young woman A novel about not just discovering but inventing oneself The year is 1995, and email is new Selin, the daughter of Turkish immigrants, arrives for her freshman year at Harvard She signs up for classes in subjects she has never heard of, befriends her

Stoner

Stoner William Stoner is born at the end of the nineteenth century into a dirt poor Missouri farming family Sent to the state university to study agronomy, he instead falls in love with English literature and embraces a scholar s life, so different from the hardscrabble existence he has known And yet as

Changing Places

Changing Places Anyone intrigued by differences between American and British academic institutions will find this an amusing and accurate send up David Lodge, portraying two American and British professors who replace one another at their respective institutions, gives greed, pettiness, and pretense full rein.

Small World

Small World Philip Swallow, Morris Zapp, Persse McGarrigle and the lovely Angelica are the jet propelled academics who are on the move, in the air and on the make in David Lodge s satirical Small World It is a world of glamorous travel and high excitement, where stuffy lecture rooms are swapped for lush

Nice Work

Nice Work When Vic Wilcox, MD of Pringle s engineering works, meets English lecturer Dr Robyn Penrose, sparks fly as their lifestyles and ideologies collide head on But, in time, both parties make some surprising discoveries about each other s worlds and about themselves.

The Marriage Plot

The Marriage Plot It s the early 1980s the country is in a deep recession, and life after college is harder than ever In the caf s on College Hill, the wised up kids are inhaling Derrida and listening to the Talking Heads But Madeleine Hanna, dutiful English major, is writing her senior thesis on Jane Austen and

The Art of Fielding

The Art of Fielding At Westish College, a small school on the shore of Lake Michigan, baseball star Henry Skrimshander seems destined for big league stardom But when a routine throw goes disastrously off course, the fates of five people are upended Henry s fight against self doubt threatens to ruin his future.

Ninth House (Alex Stern, #1)

Ninth House (Alex Stern, #1) Galaxy Alex Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale s freshman class Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school early and into a world of shady drug dealer boyfriends, dead end jobs, and much, much worse By age twenty, in fact, she is the sole survivor of

Normal People

Normal People At school Connell and Marianne pretend not to know each other He s popular and well adjusted, star of the school soccer team while she is lonely, proud, and intensely private But when Connell comes to pick his mother up from her housekeeping job at Marianne s house, a strange and indelible

Wonder Boys

Wonder Boys In his first novel since The Mysteries of Pittsburgh, Chabon presents a hilarious and heartbreaking work the story of the friendship between the wonder boys Grady, an aging writer who has lost his way, and Crabtree, whose relentless debauchery is capsizing his career.

Dear Committee Members

Dear Committee Members Finally, a novel that puts the pissed back into epistolary Jason Fitger is a beleaguered professor of creative writing and literature at Payne University, a small and not very distinguished liberal arts college in the midwest His department is facing draconian cuts and squalid quarters, while

A Separate Peace

A Separate Peace An American classic and great bestseller for over thirty years, A Separate Peace is timeless in its description of adolescence during a period when the entire country was losing its innocence to the second world war.Set at a boys boarding school in New England during the early years of World War II,

Prep : A Novel

Prep : A Novel Curtis Sittenfeld s debut novel, Prep, is an insightful, achingly funny coming of age story as well as a brilliant dissection of class, race, and gender in a hothouse of adolescent angst and ambition.Lee Fiora is an intelligent, observant fourteen year old when her father drops her off in front of

Loner

Loner An Indie Next Selection of Independent Booksellers One of the most anticipated novels of the fall from New York magazine, Glamour, Lit Hub, Boston magazine, The Millions, and BookPageDavid Federman has never felt appreciated An academically gifted yet painfully forgettable member of his New

Bradstreet Gate

Bradstreet Gate A tour de force debut about a campus murder for readers of Donna Tartt, Meg Wolitzer, and Jeffrey Eugenides Georgia, Charlie and Alice each arrive at Harvard with hopeful visions of what the future will hold But when, just before graduation, a classmate is found murdered on campus, they find